Confirmed: The last batch of exits at the club. 

Good morning All

Welcome to the Wednesday that preceeds the Gold Cup Tournament – our opportunity to have a look at our new team. I know this is only a pre-season tournament but I for one can’t wait to see Enyimba back in footballing action and I doubt I’m the only one who has missed our football. No doubt, the European games keep us somewhat occupied but I like many other people have missed our own team play. 

My very respected Oga, Tunde Shamsudeen sent me a copy of the Preseason tournament fixtures and we would kick off on Friday against Lobi Stars. We’ll play Remo Stars two days later and then play Crown FC another two days afterward. Our final ‘group’ game is against Wikki Tourists and it’s on the last day of November. Those results should determine if we are playing some more or its done for us. 

To the main discourse today, I learnt a few hours ago that Chima Akas is also leaving the club. Unlike the others, he is heading to Europe and not to Kano Pillars. News emerged yesterday that Femi Thomas is indeed pitching with Kano Pillars and what a raid the Masu Gida have done on us. Gotta admit that- Coach Ikhana has left no one in doubt as to the fact that the only place to find good players is at Enyimba. 

Make no mistakes about it, we are in some serious surgery. We need at least two left backs, two goalkeepers, in Central Defence and some reinforcements at right back too. Well, I did see the players in camp on the day I went but being new faces, I couldn’t identify who is who and which positions they filled. So I’m highlighting areas we require strengthening but only when the official outlet releases their names would we know how much more we require. 

The Chima Akas move is hardly one any true fan would feel sad about. Yes we’ve lost a quality player in Akas but shouldn’t we rejoice when a player gets a move abroad? We ought to. The reason is simple – his exit means an increased demand for a new left back. A new young player now has the opportunity to be discovered. Maybe not at Enyimba but at some other club somewhere. Much more, him leaving for ‘the abroad’ should make him a better player and a possible National Team option. 

So we wish him well in that major step of his career. We also await news on our prodigy Mfon Udoh. Not much has been heard since after his Sudan trip and it would be great if something nice and good happens with him in no distant time. Hope a good move materializes for him soon. Fingers crossed.

It’s same too with Ezekiel Bassey. I’m yet to hear anything regarding him. I’m not in Ijebu Ode to know if he is indeed there, because I learnt the deadline given the players to return to the club has long passed. Perhaps I’ll call and get the true picture of who is in camp and who isn’t. 

Just in case you’ve not heard, our attacking duo of Christian Pyagbara and Musa Najere have taken the one hour trip to join Abdul Makaiba and Akwa United in Uyo. Two decent strikers I must say but their contributions last season left an awful lot to be desired. Surely Mr Makaiba will get the best out of them- if they discipline themselves to stick to the football. 

I’m done for this morning. Something tells me I’ll have great news to share tomorrow. Would you come again for that? 

‘EnyimbaEnyi 

One thought on “Confirmed: The last batch of exits at the club. 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

