New striker promises goal rain and a Gold Cup date with Lobi

Good morning All, 

Hurray, the long awaited Friday is here and we have an opportunity to have a good and hard look at our new team. The Gold Cup Tournament kicks off today and our darling Enyimba would be off to some football action. I don’t know about you but I’ve missed this team and it would be nice seeing Enyimba playing again. 

According to the schedule, it would be against Lobi Stars and that’s no mean opponent. Lobi made a decent start and indeed had a decent League season after surviving relegation by the whiskers the previous season. I think they’ve kept together a lot of their squad and when you talk of a good test for our new team, that right there is at the top of the bunch. 

I think the idea is for the side to see how ready it is against the very best of opponents, and care should be taken to just see these set of fixtures for what they are and nothing more. It’s only a pre-season tournament and nothing is a stake like we’ve heard it over and over. That’s however no excuse though for us to get any kind of bashing today. 

Sadly, I’m not in Ijebu Ode. I’m not even sure why. That means, there won’t be any live updates from @EnyimbaEnyi. Hopefully there would be from @EnyimbaFC. If there won’t then, we’ll stick to the ones from the Tournament’s media outlets or so. If we still are unable to find, guess we’ll make do with the results when we eventually learn of them. Again, It’s only a pre-season tournament. No pressures, no analysis. Sam, keep that in mind. 

In the meantime, our new striker Ibrahim Mustapha has been speaking to us. Having lived virtually all his life up North in Maidugiri, he made the move to join our club and he’s not unaware that he would be saddled with the duty of getting the goals for us. He spoke to us of his targets and how he intends to get a starting berth at the club. 

My target is to be the top scorer for Enyimba and in the League. It was also my target last season but when I traveled, definitely I lost it because I scored just 10 goals. But my target coming here is to score a lot of goals if possible to break Mfon Udoh’s record in Enyimba. By God’s grace. 

How do intend to break into a team that has a lot of top quality strikers and players: 

When I was in El-Kanemi there was a challenge because there were many big names at the club. By God’s will, I was one of the best there. What I want to do here is, anything I did in El-Kanemi, I’ll play even better for Enyimba. As they know I am the striker they need. 

What can fans expect from Enyimba this season? 

By God’s grace, we will win the League or the Challenge Cup. If we miss out in the League, we will win the other one. We won’t miss the two targets 

Pretty much self explanatory. Sounds very optimistic in my opinion. If this is the belief within the camp, it’s only right we believe with them and pray for the best for our team this year. 

I’m done for today guys. Back tomorrow with more. 

‘EnyimbaEnyi 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

