A Derby of shared spoils and cause for optimism 

Good morning Everyone, The Abia Derby aka Abia Classico saw both teams settle for a point a piece. Yours truly was not in attendance but my future in-law was and yet again he serves us a good accessment of the game. His thoughts below. 

I was thorn between attending either the El-Cashico between Ifeanyiubah and Rivers United in Nnewi or the Abia Classico between Abia Warriors and Enyimba. I chose the latter and I’m glad I did.

Yes it ended goalless but so did the El-Cashico in Nnewi but I was able to see some degree of top quality and purposeful football which in the end was marred by failure to convert big chances.

From the Enyimba point of view, it was a good point to earn and a deserved one too. It was good for them to see players performing consistently and as Ogunbote continues to gradually integrate his players into the team, they seem to be clicking into the puzzle pad seamlessly.

There were season debuts for Chima Akas and Ezekiel Bassey and I think both did very well. Of course Chima now knows the left back role is up for a big battle and showed he’s ready for it.

Ifeanyi Anaemena impressed me on the day despite missing Enyimba’s best chances via poorly directed headers in the first half but his defensive partner, Nelson Ogbonnaya who was as cool and decisive as you can ask from an intelligent defender also warmed my heart.

Dare Ojo continues to excel at the right back role after a great display on Sunday and Ikechukwu Ibenegbu remains the kingpin in the middle.

Joseph Osadiaye was the Man of the Match and that’s to tell you he was brilliant. Joe Osayi is on fire!

The attitude was right. You hardly see many away teams in the league going for a game like that right from the onset. Perhaps, they knew it was their second home and had full belief they could win it. They almost did.

I’m gradually seeing the Ogunbote imprint. Enyimba stringing one-touch passes together? Ha! Jesus is Alive. They were a delight to watch in some parts of the first half.

The Umuahia pitch looked to be in a better shape (if you were there, then take it from me that Umuahia pitch is much better than Calabar’s) but not perfect. It withstood the downpour in the second half though players were skipping here and there.

Finally, I loved the turnout. Close to 3,000 spectators for a midweek game? Great. I’m sure they were not disappointed and they could not complain. Same goes to me as I’m eventually delighted I chose the Classico over Cashico. Pleasure doing this once again but I think I won’t do it for some weeks to come now.

Aloha. 

Even without introduction, you know this is the indefatigable @FisayoDairo. Thank you Sir.

 So it’s one point gained for us and 7 points showing on the log. I would have been worried had we returned empty handed from that tie but a point isn’t such a bad one. It’s a long season and every away point is very much welcome. 

Back tomorrow. 

‘EnyimbaEnyi 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

