The 2 strikers Rohr must take to the next CHAN

The League abounds with fantastic talent. Players who have thrived in very terrible playing conditions. Some of them make gruesome trips from one end of the country to another to play. Some of them owed wages and bonuses for several months yet they soldier on daily, keeping faith and hoping for the best. You can accuse the League of so much but not for a lack of talent. 

Yesterday, the Super Eagles gaffer released a list of the players scheduled for the forthcoming qualifiers with South Africa in Uyo. Interesting squad or roaster as we’d call it here. And baring Alhassan who I think has been immense for Akwa United this season, there wasn’t any other striker from the League who made the list. 

It got me thinking. With the CHAN coming at the start of the coming year, it’s about time the German starts getting much more than just a passing glance at what going on in the NPFL. The whole League is going absolute bonkers over Stephen Odey and the other MFM lads. I for one am not. Before I go on, remember this is my blog and I can say absolutely anything I want on it. 

As far as I know, Odey has profited from a good supporting cast- decent midfielders and strike partners and a lovely flowing attacking unit set up by Fidelis Ilechukwu. Not saying he’s not a decent striker – I mean you don’t notch the number of goals he has scored this season by mere happenstance. He surely knows his way to the net. But will he blossom as much in a system different from what Illechukwu has put out at MFM? I don’t think so. How many of his goals are sheer personal brilliance and not from the spot?  

My two picks are Sunday Adetunji of Abia Warriors and his replica at Enyimba Ibrahim Mustapha. My reason is simple- just judge their various contributions to the goalscoring accounts of their respective teams. Hard work, fight and passion- add that to a proven length of being successful in the NPFL, you can bet CHAN requires such experience, maturity and fight. 

Abia Warriors would be silly to sell Adetunji any less than Chikatara was sold. No other player has made more telling contributions than what the striker has offered that team this year. He even netted a brace in the demolition of Rangers last weekend. If only we had platforms that help players get better…

I’d say same for Mustapha who looks like he has continued from where he stopped back at Maidugiri. Goals, assists and relentless hardwork, he fits seemelessly and he looks like he’s played in Enyimba all his life. These two are as far as I am concerned the sort of strikers Rohr should be watching more closely as the CHAN draws closer. 

I like when I write posts that I can easily throw out an “I told you so” in the future. 

Back tomorrow. 

‘EnyimbaEnyi 

2 thoughts on “The 2 strikers Rohr must take to the next CHAN

Add yours

  1. I have to agree with you on Sunday Adetunji. I saw him in Port Harcourt against Rivers Utd. He was fantastic.
    I wondered why he’s not playing in a big club like ours.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

